In The Beginning…

Hello World! (sorry couldn’t help mimicking the supercilious greeting adopted  by wordpress)

This is just an intro. I’m not going to tell you anything about myself that would be doubling up on information. Once I work out how to put a post into the ‘About’ page I’ll do a little bio.

As most of the readers here will know this blog will contain the reflections of my time studying the subject ‘Emerging technologies’ for a masters of Information Science and Library studies but I’m not planning to make this private so anyone may stumble upon it. This may morph into the platform for my e-portfolio but I have no specific plans and will build as I go.

This is not the first blog I have run or written for. I set up a blog for my university’s student-run zine FREE and a travel blog when I went on a exchange to Rio de Janeiro and then my subsequent adventures in America (because they are so close! not) called goingoingtorio. Neither have had any activity in years but your welcome to go and have a look… especially if your planning a trip to Brasil. These have been a means-to-an-end content driven experiments. The FREE voice blog was a boost and a compliment to our monthly publication but we didn’t really use it well, partly because my inability to keep maintaining it. I feel like this blog has a purpose beyond its content and look forward to building it with that idea in mind.

I will be reflecting in both written and video format. I decided to conduct my first reflection as a video and had planed to do a sort of raw-just-go-for-it-no-edit kind of thing and ended up talking for 20 mins. I’m going to post it because this is as much about the process as the content. Don’t worry though I’m about to re-shoot (with a timer on) and cover try to cover the most important points.

Cheers

L

One thought on “In The Beginning…

Leave a comment