Week 4/5 Play and Reflect – How to unfuck the planet.

Hi Everyone,

Here is how this is going to work. I’ll introduce and explain the app I had a play with and then I’m going to embed my reflect video down the bottom. Also the tittle  of the blog is in ref to this Facebook page, not just me being rude.

So I had a look at apps that track co2 output. The one I found that was really comprehensive and seemed like it would be really intelligent and user friendly was Oroeco and you can watch a little clip they made here. I read an interview with the creator and felt really affiliated with his views and his reasoning behind the creation of the app. I explain that more in my vlog. However this app has not been released in Australia. Yay for us… not. So instead I had a look at CO2 Fit.

(in the interest of full disclosure I only really used over 2 days and it need a little more of in depth look and play)

CO2 Fit track the output of each journey you make, awards you points for the green ones (bike, walk, public transport) and offers you the chance to offset the dirty journeys (car, plane).

IMG_2058 On the left is the home page. You select the method of transport your are about to embark upon and it will take you to the next screen where you press go and it begins recording your output depending on the method transport. You cannot record output retroactively, you have to remember to press go when you leave… a bit of a draw back for me.

IMG_2061 This is the screen from after completing my car journey from here it takes you too a screen offering you to buy carbon offset for these journeys with Recoins you earn when you are traveling carbon free or on minimum outputs.

You could view your activities (below left), see your ranking compared to overall users and compare your out put to the total community output (below right)

IMG_2059IMG_2060

There are a few reasons I found this app a lacking complexity and I detail those reasons in my reflection but it is on the whole very user friendly and it does look great… whatever my scepticism about the role of pricing carbon in the fight against climate change.

Below is my reflection vlog. I mentioned last time that I was going to try something a little different from my last raw unrehearsed rough and ready video. The plan was to do something more professional: more thought out setting, hair and make up, written and rehearsed speech etc. It didn’t quite work out like that. I wrote out my reflection so there is less rambling but the rest didn’t happen. I mean I had a shower but thats about it. Let me know  what you think and I’ll try to build the concept by levels… as I go.

p.s The app I talk about wanting to create in the vlog has an function where you can program in how many emissions you allow yourself to use each week and if you get to your limit you are no longer allowed to drive… Self imposed but a better behavioural tool then just buying your way out of your emissions guilt.

2 thoughts on “Week 4/5 Play and Reflect – How to unfuck the planet.

  1. Hi, I didn’t know this kind of app until now, thanks for sharing! Though I don’t think that I will use CO2 Fit because I’m too lazy. And it’s not that I don’t want to make any meaningful lifestyle changes, I did save a lot of CO2 by taking bus. It’s just.. this app is awesome and meaningful, but I’m not interested in using it…

    Like

  2. I can’t find it now, but I read something a while ago about climate change, pollution, and all of that sort of thing, that pointed out how small an impact individuals tend to actually have regarding them. We talk about changing our habits and helping the environment, and it can help to some degree – especially in the local area – but it’s large companies and manufacturers that are causing most of the damage, and expecting individuals to fix it probably isn’t going to work.
    That said, it’s not as though trying to help the environment is going to make things *worse*.

    Like

Leave a comment